Step 1 - Start
An insurance company submits a rate increase request with the Arkansas Insurance Department. The state has authority to review individual and small group rates. A small group is currently defined in the Affordable Care Act as 100 employees or fewer
Step 2 - Post/Consumer Comments
The Arkansas Insurance Department posts rate filing documents online. Consumers may email comments regarding rate increase requests to: firstname.lastname@example.org or mail comments to the Arkansas Insurance Department: Attn: Health Insurance Premium Rate Review Division, 1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201.
Step 3 - Review – Determination
The Arkansas Insurance Department reviews the company’s request. Many factors are used to determine the approval or disapproval of a rate increase including:
Administration expenses and profits
Companies must submit a 3 year history of rate increases at the time they file a request for a new rate increase.
AID will consider comments made by the public.
Medical Loss Ratio: Federal health reform law requires that insurance companies rebate premiums if they fail to spend at least 80 percent of premiums collected in a state’s small group and individual markets on medical care and quality improvement.
Step 4 - End Result
The Arkansas Insurance Commissioner makes the final decision. A decision must be made within 60 days of the date the rate request is filed. The department
notifies the insurer of the decision and posts the information online.
You can click here to view filings and decisions.
The decision that is announced is always an average.. A particular consumer gets a smaller or larger increase, depending on several factors such as their age or where they live. Consumers generally cannot get more than one rate increase in a year. However, if they enter a new age bracket or add family members to their plan, rates may go up additionally.